May the Fourth Be With You (2016)

I do so love May the Fourth – Star Wars Day as it’s otherwise known. Up until last year or so, though, I had no real way to participate in that day. Nothing to contribute, really, other than to pass around some cartoons or memes that someone else had put together.

Ah, but then I started on calligraphy and discovered that I do have a way to contribute. Last year I did a bunch of great lines from the movies, and had such fun that I thought I’d do it again. So here, without further wind-up, are this year’s Star Wars Day pieces. Enjoy!

It's variously "I have" and "I've got" throughout the movies. I picked this one. Ink: Waterman Tender Purple Script: Italic
It’s variously “I have” and “I’ve got” throughout the movies. I picked this one.
Ink: Waterman Tender Purple
Script: Italic

A little more delicate than I would usually do for Han, but it works. Ink: Sumi Script: Engrosser's
A little more delicate than I would usually do for Han, but it works.
Ink: Sumi
Script: Engrosser’s

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good to remember. Inks: Diamine Golden Sands and Walnut Script: Kells Insular Majuscule
Good to remember.
Inks: Diamine Golden Sands and Walnut
Script: Kells Insular Majuscule

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the look of this - kind of like he's written a letter of apology to her. Ink: McCaffery's Iron Gall Script: Engrosser's
I like the look of this – kind of like he’s written a letter of apology to her.
Ink: McCaffery’s Iron Gall
Script: Engrosser’s
Nice to get a line from Greedo in here. Ink: J. Herbin Vert Olive Script: Italic
Nice to get a line from Greedo in here.
Ink: J. Herbin Vert Olive
Script: Italic
I wanted the red to echo Kylo Ren's lightsaber - rough, uncontrolled, and angry. Inks: McCaffery's Iron Gall and Diamine Red Lustre Script: Foundational and Fraktur
I wanted the red to echo Kylo Ren’s lightsaber – rough, uncontrolled, and angry.
Inks: McCaffery’s Iron Gall and Diamine Red Lustre
Scripts: Foundational and Fraktur
Jedi wisdom is always good. Ink: J. Herbin Emerald of Chivor Script: Foundational
Jedi wisdom is always good.
Ink: J. Herbin Emerald of Chivor
Script: Foundational
Of course, I got cocky with that ligature and that "y". So... Ink: Private Reserve Gray Flannel Script: Fraktur
Of course, I got cocky with that g-k ligature and that “y”. So let that be a lesson to you.
Ink: Private Reserve Gray Flannel
Script: Fraktur
That one Jawa word we all know. Ink: Walnut Script: Kells Insular Majuscule
That one Jawa word we all know.
Ink: Walnut
Script: Kells Insular Majuscule
Yoda is great to pull lines from. Very quotable. Inks: Diamine Shimmering Seas and Golden Sands Script: Foundational
Yoda is great to pull lines from. Very quotable.
Inks: Diamine Shimmering Seas and Golden Sands
Script: Foundational
Another nugget of wisdom from the Master. Inks: Diamine Oxblood and Waterman Intense Black Script: Textura Quadrata
Another nugget of wisdom from the Master.
Inks: Diamine Oxblood and Waterman Intense Black
Script: Textura Quadrata

Want to nominate some lines for next year? Put ’em in the comments!

One thought on “May the Fourth Be With You (2016)

Leave a Comment

