Ink Drop Limerick for June 2015

Honestly, I’m surprised I haven’t put this up here yet. Talk about a guaranteed blog topic…

A little backstory: Over at Goulet Pens, they have a service called the Ink Drop. Once a month for $15 ($10 if you’re in the US), they’ll ship you five samples of inks chosen from their vast, inky collection. They’re usually themed in some way, but it’s a little something to look forward to every month if you’re a fountain pen writer or a calligrapher, or someone who plays with inks in his or her own way.

Of course, you want to test them out when you get them, but how? Well, I thought that doing calligraphy with them would be a good way to do it, and with five colors every month, the most obvious vehicle for my testing would be a limerick.

Thus, the Ink Drop Limerick was born. You can see previous months’ on my DeviantArt page, but let’s go over this month’s inks together, shall we?

Ink Drop Limerick 13

 

The limerick itself is attributed to Ogden Nash, and although I find lines 3 and 4 a little suspect, it’s still cute.

This month was a kind of “Farmers Market” theme, looking for the colors of summer veggies or suchlike. They’re all fine inks, though not all ones I would use every day. I have a fondness for  green ink, though. The Avocado is a solid deep green, while the Cucumber is a brighter, more pleasant green. It’s also scented, which worried me a bit – cucumbers being my Nemesis Vegetable (Nemetable?) – but the scent is mild and not really noticeable unless you’re really trying.

The Saguaro Wine is a bright purple, which I’m sure has a purpose in everyday life, but not really mine. The Bilberry is also purple. but more restrained. Better than that, though – and I don’t think this really comes through so well in the scan – it has a nice gold sheen round the edges of the letters. If you like sheening inks, put Diamine Bilberry on your list.

Finally, the Pilot Iroshizuku Yama-guri. I love Iroshizuku inks, but I don’t have much fondness for brown ink. Don’t know why, but it’s not a color I would use if I could help it. If I have to do brown calligraphy, I’ll turn to walnut ink, which is much better-behaved in general. But if you like brown inks, Iroshizuku is a quality brand, if a bit pricey.

So that’s June for you. Thanks to Goulet Pens for the service, and I look forward to next month!

2 thoughts on “Ink Drop Limerick for June 2015

  1. wolfy June 15, 2015 / 9:54 am

    While using emerald green,
    The notebook got its just revenge
    By changing it to brown.

    Like

Leave a Comment

