May the Fourth Be With You!

It was Star Wars Day yesterday, so I spent my day writing out lines from the films. Most of them were by request from people on Twitter and Facebook, which was a fun way of delegating the work of research. I had a good time working out styles and colors and layouts, and even if not every little detail worked, it was a fine tribute to the movies. So here they are!

Princess Leia to Han Solo
Princess Leia to Han Solo

I thought for a while about this one. I tested different reds against each other, worked out how big I’d want to go with the lettering, and then just took a deep breath. I like it. The reds are Diamine Oxblood, Caran D’Ache Perfect Pink, and Noodler’s Apache Sunset, in descending order.

A tiny, blue Princess Leia
A tiny, blue Princess Leia

This looks a bit cramped. Probably should’ve started further to the left, but what can you do… Done in blue (Iroshizuku Ajisai, to be exact) after the color of her hologram, or at least how I remember it.

Not sure how Leia got to be Fraktur, but perhaps I thought it was sufficiently princessy. Also somewhat related to her father whose lines are in Textura Quadrata, but if that were the reason, then Luke’s would have to be too, so it’s just easier to say “BECAUSE” and move on.

Princess Leia to Han Solo
Princess Leia to Han Solo

If I were being really consistent with this, I’d redo it and not use the Roman capitals – mainly because I eventually decided that Leia was Fraktur and Han was Romans, but that idea of having one script per character hadn’t really solidified by this point. Also, I would only have one of the ms in “committee” drop down, but I can’t decide which one. Still, it looks good.

It goes out in honor of my friend Joanne, as this was the quote through which we first met.

The ink is Pilot’s black document ink, with a bit of Noodler’s Apache Sunset for color.

Luke and Dr. Cornelius Evazan
Luke and Dr. Cornelius Evazan

This was an interesting one. I decided to go with italic for Luke (and blue, for his lightsaber), and it occurred to me that this might be a good chance to experiment. So I did Luke’s like in a rather flowy, gentle style (as he is still a naive young farm boy at this stage) and the line of (wikiwikiwiki) Dr. Cornelius Evazan in a much sharper, angular fashion. I think it worked out well.

Off the top of my head, I don’t remember what inks these were. Possibly J Herbin’s Bleu Pervenche and… Diamine Oxblood? I’d check now, but the cat on my lap says no. Will update if I get a better idea on the red.

Han Solo to Chewbacca
Han Solo to Chewbacca

Going with Romans is always a risk, and it shows here. Straight lines aren’t terribly straight. The rounded letters are heavier than they need to be, mainly because they’re tougher to get right. The W in “Chewie” is lopsided, some of the inter-letter spacing is wonky… But one day I’ll make it work, and I’ll come back and re-do this.

Darth Vader to a cold, unfeeling universe
Darth Vader to a cold, unfeeling universe

This is the only line from the prequels that I’m doing, by the way.

The versal came from the fact that this is really just an exercise in consistency. Two letters, so I needed to spice it up a bit. I looked around at versal Ns and found this style suited my purposes. The letter itself is meant to reflect Vader’s armor. The red border, his lightsaber, and the swirling yellow-orangeness the lava into which he fell prior to this scene. The whole thing was colored with markers, as opposed to inks or paint, as I don’t have that level of control with wet media just yet.

Darth Vader to Admiral Motti
Darth Vader to Admiral Motti

I had already established that Vader Gets a Versal, and ended up spending far more time on this one that the actual text. Traditional versal Is were varied, and none really reflected what I wanted, so I tossed the dice and went with the lightsaber. I hope it works.

The rest of the versal just kind of made itself. Vader’s gauntlet, of course, had to be there. The looped interior border is for the choking, and the black-on-grey webbing inside that is the darkness of his Force. And there’s the Death Star.

Still need to work on making straight borders, but I could just say the wobbly lines are to reinforce the essential corruption of Vader’s understanding of the Force.

Yeah. That’s it. Corruption. Wobbly. Yeah.

Detail of the Vader "Faith" quotation
Detail of the Vader “Faith” quotation

I spent way too much time on this, but it was worth it.

Obi-Wan Kenobi
Obi-Wan Kenobi to a couple of mooks

When I started this, I had a whole layout in my head that was predicated on the line being “These are not the droids…” That, however, was wrong. So I didn’t do that. But it turned out looking nice anyway, and established Uncial as the Jedi script.

Done in walnut ink, for that monk-ish look the Jedi are so associated with.

Yoda to Luke Skywalker
Yoda to Luke Skywalker

As above, done with walnut ink for that old-timey look. And I suppose I could say that all Jedi characters share the same script because they preach the casting-off of identity or something, but the fact is that I didn’t have another one to use for Yoda. So there we are.

Yoda to Luke Skywalker
Yoda to Luke Skywalker

Some of the best advice even given by a Jedi master. I want to hang this up all over my school.

Leave a Comment

