Quoting The Crow

A friend and I were talking about that timeless movie The Crow and remembering how many really good lines it had. As we tossed lines back and forth over email, I realized that they would make great calligraphy fodder. So that’s what I did.

Quotation - The Crow 05

I’m actually very happy with this one. The spacing is good in general, although there could be a little more space between “all” and “the”. And the two ns don’t really match. And the m is a bit wonky. But still – I like it. It’s also a very good sentiment that should be remembered.

Quotation - The Crow 04One of my complaints about showing off calligraphy is that it generally doesn’t scan terribly well. What life there is in the written words tends to flatten out when it’s digitized, and that’s the same here. The contrast between the deep blue and the pale grey should really be better. That said, I think this looks really nice.

Quotation - The Crow 03

 

I did this twice, actually, because it didn’t occur to me to put “Bang” in another color until later. So I got to do more practice – oh well.

Quotation - The Crow 02

 

The line is good, and the execution is fine overall, I think. I’m still trying to work out how to best position the capital A, though. It looks like it’s leaning over in this instance. I should do some research on that, I think.

2015-01-14 21.50.06

 

I can’t find the regular scanned version of this, so the Instagram will have to do. I realized while I was writing that there was something to be done with the flourishes. I could see elements of smoke and flame, and thought it could be done a little better. So I tried again, this time in Quadrata:

2015-01-15 20.53.59

 

A little better, I think, although not as good as what was in my head. Also, the red ink got really feathery – less obvious in the Instagram version, but painfully so in the scanned one.

While flourishes can be a sign of terrible insecurity, especially in a beginning calligrapher, my thought on them is that they shouldn’t be ignored. The whole point of practice pieces such as this is to play around and see what works and what doesn’t. If you don’t practice and reflect on your practice, you will never improve.

Anyway, that’s the Crow session. Up next will be another fan favorite – Clue!

Leave a Comment

